About CCAD

In November 1972 the Chariton County Ambulance District Board of Directors were established. The District began its first day of operation on April 1, 1973. In Chariton County two bases were in operation, one located at the City Hall in Brunswick and the other at the Salisbury Police Department. The first Board President was Bob Harris of Salisbury and the first District Superintendent was Bob Wright of Salisbury.

In August of 1996, the Brunswick base relocated to 201 N. Small along with the Volunteer Brunswick Fire Department. In June of 2002, the Salisbury base relocated to 212 S. Weber in Salisbury.

CCAD currently operates one ambulance from the Brunswick base. The Salisbury base maintains two ambulances, the business office, and training center.

A six member Board of Directors elected for staggered three-year terms governs CCAD. The Superintendent and the Office Manager manage the day-to-day affairs of the District.

County property tax and patient income are the foundation of the operating budget. The District accepts Medicare, Medicaid, insurances and private pay.

With the direction of the Medical Director, CCAD has gone above and beyond the national curriculum for EMT-P's. With extensive training and monthly quality assurance/quality improvement standards, the personnel are trained in Advanced Cardiac Life Support, Basic Trauma Life Support, Pediatric Advanced Life Support, CPR, as well as advanced invasive procedures such as Rapid Sequence Intubations, sternal intraosseous access, End Tidal CO2 monitoring, 12 lead cardiac interpretation and Oxylator ventilator support.

CCAD provides many community services:
• High School Career Day
• Hosts Red Cross Blood Drives
• 1st Responder Courses
• EMT Courses
• Monthly Continuing Education Units
• CPR/AED Classes Monthly or Appointment
• Well Patient Screenings
• Fire Standby
• School Function Standby
• Blood Pressure Screening

A Special Thanks To AH Previous and Current Employees
Cecil Billue
Louis Billue
Jim Blackwell
Jamie Bowyer
Mary Bowyer
Kenny Boss
Don Breashers
Mike Brehm
Marci Burgerner
Julie Coy
Donald Cravens
Donna Cravens
Ronnie Cruse
Rick Derenzy
Deloris Dickerson
Diane Dickerson
Dirk Dickerson
John Dickerson
Kevin Dickerson
Susan Dickerson
Deloris Drown
Joni Duprai
Jessie Dupree
Gerald Eddson
Bridgett Fessler
Gene Fidler
Norman Forman
Joy Garvin
Dr. Harmston
Bob Harris
Don Henke
Jamie Henry
Rick Hershey
Sherry Hershey
Lester Holbrook
David Hopper
Stan Hopper
La Vena Jones
Clay Joyner
Ron Kahler
Marty Leatherwood
Keith Leimkuhler
Joella Lewis
Paul Lewis
Trent Link
Christy McCloud
Glenda McCollum
Daryl Noll
Bill Pearman
Joe Peeper
Red Powell
Dr. Quinn
Rob Rice
Lesa Scheiderer
Linda Schieni
Joe Seig
Mike Shafer
Greg Speiser
John Stanfield
Chris Sturm
Jeff Westenkuehler
Mark Wilhelm
Harvey Wiseman
Rama Lee Wiseman
Bob Wright
Katherine Wright
Wilbur Young